The Institute for the Critical Study of Society
at the 
Niebyl-Proctor Marxist Library

 

Sunday Morning At The Marxist Library

 

UPCOMING PROGRAMS

(NOTE: These are all tentative and may be changed. Please check back the week before, or sign up for our weekly reminders/updates at cuyleruyle@mac.com)

Our Sunday morning programs are scheduled pretty much on a “first come, first served” basis and confirmed at our planning sessions. The opinions expressed are those of the speakers only and do not represent a group consensus on the issues by the members of ICSS. Our general practice is to allot at least half of the time to comradely discussion of the issues so that we include as many voices as practical 

Sun, May 31, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Revolutionary Organizations in the U.S.
Lenin advocated for and created a revolutionary socialist party of a ‘new type’, more than 100 years ago. What kind of socialist organizations are required in the USA today? What revolutionary organizations are here already and how are they faring? After a short presentation by ICSS member Riichard Fallenbaum, there will be an open discussion in which participants will present their own observations and evaluations.

LOG-IN INFORMATION
Long-in Information will be included in our weekly  Reminder email on Friday.

 

PLANNED FUTURE PROGRAMS

Sun, Jun 7, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
PLANNED: Caste in India: Historical Aspects

Sun, Jun 14, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
PLANNED: COVID 19 in India:

Sun, Jun 21, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
PLANNED: Caste and Revolution in India

Sun, Jun 28, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
PLANNED:
Climate Solutions Beyond Capitalism, by Tima Landis of PSL (will invite)

Sun, Jul 5, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
PLANNED Patriotic Program Planned

Sun, Jul 12, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
PLANNED  Bastille Day

Sun, Jul 19, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jul 26, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 2, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
TENTATIVE: Remembering Hiroshima and Nagasaki

Sun, Aug 9, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
TENTATIVE: The Social Metabolism of Imperialism 
This will continue the theoretical work of ICSS member Eugene E Ruyle which applies Marx’s labor theory of value to the analysis of non-capitalist as well as capitalist systems, leading to a theoretic framework Ruyle calls social thermodynamics or social metabolism. Ruyle’s paper,  “The Evolution of Human Energetic Systems”, has been accepted for presentation at Thermodynamics 2.0 | International Conference which is being held from 22 – 24 June 2020

Sun, Aug 16, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 23, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 30, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 6, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
REPEAT: Labor Day and May Day: Two Workers Holidays

Sun, Sep 13, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 20, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 27, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 4, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 11, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 18, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 25, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 1, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm DST FALL BACK
TENTATIVE -October Revolution Lives

Sun, Nov 8, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
TENTATIVE - October Revolution Lives

Sun, Nov 15, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 22, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 29, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 6, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 13, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 20, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 27, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 3, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 10, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 17, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 24, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Sun near May 3,   2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Postponed from last  year: Elazar on the Scientific Analysis of Stalinism.
(Elazar 88th Birthday celebration after)