icss-npml

 

Sunday Morning at the Marxist Library

At NPML, 6501 Telegraph Ave. Oakland, CA 94609

Info: contact Gene Ruyle: Ph: 510-332-3865. 
Email: cuyleruyle@mac.com

 

UPCOMING PROGRAMS

(NOTE: These are all tentative and may be changed.
Please check back the week before, or sign up for our weekly reminders/updates at cuyleruyle@mac.com)

 

NOTE: Many of our programs are being recorded and placed on the "icss marxist" channel on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=icss+marxist+

Our Sunday morning programs are scheduled pretty much on a “first come, first served” basis and confirmed at our planning sessions. The opinions expressed are those of the speakers only and do not represent a group consensus on the issues by the members of ICSS. Our general practice is to allot at least half of the time to comradely discussion of the issues so that we include as many voices as practical

Sun, Apr 12, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Boom ... Bang ... Crash!  The Breathtaking Capitalist Crash of 2020

   The Covid 19 pandemic has triggered what is shaping up to be the fastest and possibly deepest economic crash in U.S. capitalist history.  Millions of workers have already been laid off in just a few weeks; the St. Louis Fed warns of possible 32.1 percent unemployment by the end of June.   Some mainstream economists are predicting a 20%-30% fall in GDP in the second quarter.  We've seen the fastest drop (more than 20%) in stock prices in U.S. stock market history, and the Federal Reserve has been frantically pumping trillions of dollars into the capitalist financial system.
   While the coronavirus pandemic triggered this hyper-acute phase of the crisis, the forces generating economic and social instability in capitalism have been building for decades.  ICSS Marxist economist
Dr. Allan Miller will present some analysis of the fundamental causes of the crisis, the recently passed federal capitalist bailout CARES bill, and some initial ideas on what it is leading to.  Discussion will follow.  Bring your ideas on what's happening, and what is to be done about it!

 

Sun, Apr 19, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
COVID 19: A Global Pandemic.
ICSS Members Raj Sahai and Mehmet Bayyan will discuss the globasl pandemic using India and Turkey as case studies. Blurb soon.

Sun, Apr 26, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open, Several Possibilities

TENTATIVE U.S. Sanctions: The Weaponization of the Global Financial System
  
While wars have historically been fought with soldiers and guns, the sole superpower has realized its monopoly ability to wage financial war through sanctions and embargoes against its perceived enemies around the world, such as Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Gaza.  How and why does the United States alone exercise this extraterritorial power to such devastating effect?
   Dr. Sharat G. Lin is a research fellow at the San José Peace and Justice Center.  He writes and lectures on global political economy, labor migration, the Middle East, and public health.  He has visited most of the countries under U.S. sanctions and studied the consequences of sanctions and embargoes.TENTATIVE: From Trade

War to Coronavirus: US New Sinophobia Cold War Against China
The new Cold War against China is noting secret, from the so-call “Chinese high-tech spies” to “China virus” these’re all racists attacks that no basis; the same cold war tactics US has been using against any countries/people they don’t like, to justify their massacre from indigenous people of North America to the invasion of the Iraq, as well as anti-immigrants and racial segregation in the U.S.
   Lee Siu Hin long-time Chinese immigrant activist in the US, has been a long-time Pacifica reporter & war correspondent,  also the community, peace and immigrant rights activist in the US, the national coordinator of the National Immigrant Solidarity Network, Action LA and China-US Solidarity Network. currently travel between China and US building bi-national activist solidarity, working on the medical project in China and the director of the the e-Medial Association in China, know many people involved in the current coronavirus medical works in China and Wuhan, with first-hand information form the region. 

Sun, May 3, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, May 10, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, May 17, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, May 24, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, May 31, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
ELAZAR ON THE SCIENTIFIC ANALYSIS OF STALINISM
(Elazar 87th Birthday celebration after:12:35-2:45)

Sun, Jun 7, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Trump and the Disaster of Occupational Health
TENTATIVE: We are awaiting confirmed date and a blurb from ICSS Member Nina WaX on this topic.

Sun, Jun 14, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jun 21, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jun 28, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jul 5, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jul 12, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jul 19, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jul 26, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 2, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 9, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 16, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 23, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Aug 30, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 6, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 13, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 20, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Sep 27, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 4, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 11, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 18, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Oct 25, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 1, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open  DST FALL BACK

Sun, Nov 8, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 15, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 22, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Nov 29, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 6, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 13, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 20, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Dec 27, 2020: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 3, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 10, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 17, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open

Sun, Jan 24, 2021: 10:30 am to 12:30 pm
Open